What Our CMS 5-Star Rating Means for Your Care

Posted on: July 23rd, 2021 by hhmin

As you begin researching senior living communities or stand-alone skilled nursing facilities for yourself or a loved one, it’s important to keep in mind that they’re not all created equal. Different communities and facilities offer varying amenities, services, and levels of care. But did you know facilities can earn important and esteemed ratings that highlight their quality of care?

When it comes to researching residential and continuing care options, you can feel more comfortable and confident about a senior living community whose skilled nursing facility has received high marks in care and support of its residents.

That’s why receiving a 5-Star rating from CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) is so important for senior care facilities. It signifies the highest quality of care and ensures that all residents receive clinical services that are second to none.

Understanding exactly what a CMS 5-Star rating means and the individual factors on which skilled nursing providers are evaluated is essential to planning for care you may need now or in the future.

This article will explain the deeper implications behind a CMS rating and help you better understand the superior care you’ll find at Holly Hall’s continuing care retirement community.

Nursing Home Ratings: What Is a CMS 5-Star Rating?

CMS offers the five-star quality rating system to over 15,000 nursing homes across the country. The system includes data on every CMS-rated nursing home, as well as a rating between 1 and 5 stars  for each, so you can get a quick view of the best facilities. While Holly Hall isn’t a nursing home, but rather a continuing care retirement community that offers multiple levels of living, our facility and services are included in this rating system.

The top 10% of nursing homes with the best health inspection scores in each state get a health inspection rating of 5 stars.

Additionally, a CMS 5-star rating for staffing means residents living there receive greater access to RNs  and nursing care than other retirement communities and nursing homes.1

The Importance of a CMS 5-Star Rating

The CMS star rating system helps seniors find the very best senior care facilities within their area. Also, the ratings make it easier to identify retirement communities trying to provide the best clinical staff and highest-quality measures to all residents.

That’s why, if a facility has received a CMS 5-Star rating, it means it is a reliable, high-grade setting for older adults needing various levels of care.

It also enables prospective residents to make an informed decision about a senior living community, knowing that a CMS 5-Star rating means the community has been properly inspected and approved by outside agencies monitoring quality of care within the geographic area.2

How the CMS 5-Star Quality Rating System Translates into Real-Life, Quality Care

The CMS rating system encourages people to use the rankings and stars as one tool when deciding on a skilled nursing facility or retirement community. It offers information regarding how individual senior care facilities provide for residents, how the facilities are staffed, and how their inspections have historically been scored.3,4

  • At Holly Hall, our culture is characterized by the alignment of goals and plans at all levels of the organization.
  • Our staff members are dedicated to providing excellent care, understanding their responsibilities and being held accountable for their performance and commitment to the residents.
  • Our culture is one that promotes teamwork for the common good and success of our ministry.

Our 5-Star rating is immensely important to our entire community. It signifies the time, effort, and care we put into every individual we have the pleasure of serving.

Since our founding, Holly Hall has stayed true to a quest of “adding years to life and life to years” by concentrating on the health and well-being of the whole person—spiritually, physically, and mentally.

This approach has enabled us to provide the highest-quality care to our residents. It has also helped create an atmosphere in which providing 5-Star quality care isn’t  just a rating, but a lifestyle we aspire to daily.

Get the Best Care at Holly Hall

From location to cost to quality, identifying the elements that mean the most to you is essential to picking the very best senior living community.

With compassionate, whole-person services, you’ll find the best care at Holly Hall. Learn more about our 5-Star-rated health and rehab services:


Learn More


At Holly Hall, we understand that choosing a senior living community for yourself or a loved one is a major decision with a lot of factors to consider, and we’re here to help you as you research and navigate this process. What questions can we answer? Contact us today or easily schedule a tour:


Contact Us                     Schedule a Tour



1Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. CMS’ Five Star Quality Rating System for Nursing Homes. Accessed July 5, 2021. https://www.cms.gov/newsroom/fact-sheets/cms-five-star-quality-rating-system-nursing-Homes.


2AMFM. Understanding the Nursing Home Five-Star Rating System and how you can choose the right nursing home. Accessed July 5, 2021. https://www.amfmwv.com/blog/understanding-nursing-home-five-star-rating-system-and-how-you-can-choose-right-nursing-home.


3Very Well Health. The Medicare Five-Star Rating Program for Hospitals and Nursing Homes. Accessed July 5, 2021. https://www.verywellhealth.com/medicare-five-star-rating-system-4691662.


4Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Five-Star Quality Rating System. Accessed July 5, 2021. https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/CertificationandComplianc/FSQRS.